We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Black Hunger

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780356522180

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 10th October 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

PAGE COUNT: 480

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘A gothic masterpiece and a devastating exploration of humanity’s capacity for evil’ Sunyi Dean, author of The Book Eaters

John Sackville will soon be dead. Shadows writhe in the corners of his cell as he mourns the death of his secret lover and the gnawing hunger inside him grows impossible to ignore.

He must write his last testament before it is too late.

It is a story steeped in history and myth – a journey from stone circles in Scotland, to the barren wilderness of Ukraine where otherworldly creatures stalk the night, ending in the icy peaks of Tibet and Mongolia, where an ancient evil stirs . .

A spine-tingling, queer gothic horror debut where two men are drawn into an otherworldly spiral, and a journey that will only end when they reach the darkest part of the human soul. Perfect for fans of The Historian and Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.

Praise for The Black Hunger:

The Black Hunger is a phenomenal book full of rich historical detail, occult mysticism, and slow, creeping horror. . . a triumph’ Thomas D. Lee, author of Perilous Times

‘A new dark classic to stand alongside Frankenstein and Jekyll & Hyde, The Black Hunger reveals its horrors inch by devastating inch, leading the reader from the foothills of the Himalayas to the Scottish Islands and back again’ Molly O’Neill, author of Greenteeth

‘Rich in historical detail, poignant romance, sweeping adventure, and visceral terror, The Black Hunger is both utterly original and thrillingly addictive’ Jennifer Thorne, author of Diavola

‘A terrifying gothic journey to the place where the very cruellest, hungriest creatures hide in the snow, and wear our faces. This is a magisterial debut’ Michael Rowe, author of Wild Fell

Reviews

A gothic masterpiece and a devastating exploration of humanity's capacity for evil
Sunyi Dean, author of The Book Eaters
A new dark classic to stand alongside Frankenstein and Jekyll & Hyde, The Black Hunger reveals its horrors inch by devastating inch, leading the reader from the foothills of the Himalayas to the Scottish Islands and back again
Molly O'Neill, author of GREENTEETH
The Black Hunger is a stunning historical horror novel that recalls the work of Elizabeth Kostova and the best of Dan Simmons' Victorian supernatural fiction. With painterly prose, Pullen takes the reader on a terrifying gothic journey to the place where the very cruellest, hungriest creatures hide in the snow, and wear our faces. This is a magisterial debut by a major new voice in contemporary dark fantasy
Michael Rowe, author of WILD FELL
Rich in historical detail, poignant romance, sweeping adventure, and visceral terror, The Black Hunger is both utterly original and thrillingly addictive
Jennifer Thorne, author of DIAVOLA
The Black Hunger is a phenomenal book full of rich historical detail, occult mysticism, and slow, creeping horror. Pullen has written a compelling queer love story that takes the reader firmly by the hand and leads them from Oxford to the Himalayas, through 1920s diplomatic intrigue and esoteric Buddhist spiritualism, all the way to war-torn Russia and the distant steppes of Siberia. Redolent of Arthur Conan Doyle and H. P. Lovecraft, The Black Hunger is a triumph that should be on your reading list
Thomas D. Lee, author of PERILOUS TIMES