We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Book of Gothel

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780356517704

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 26th July 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Everyone knows the story of Rapunzel in the tower, but do you know the tale of the witch who put her there?

Enter a world of dark magic, mysterious woods and evil princes. This is the truth they never wanted you to know, as only a witch might tell it.

With her strange black eyes and even stranger fainting spells, Haelewise is shunned by her village, and her only solace lies in the stories her mother tells of child-stealing witches, of princes in wolf-skins, of an ancient tower cloaked in mist where women will find shelter if they are brave enough to seek it.

But when her mother dies, Haelewise is left unmoored. With nothing left for her in her village, she sets out to find the tower of legend-a place called Gothel, where Haelewise meets a wise woman willing to take her under her wing.

But Haelewise is not the only woman to seek refuge at Gothel. It’s also a haven for a girl named Rika, who carries with her a secret the Church strives to keep hidden. A secret that reveals a dark world of ancient spells and murderous nobles behind the world Haelewise has always known.

The Book of Gothel is a lush, enchanting retelling of the tale of Rapunzel from the witch’s perspective, perfect for fans of Circe and The Bear and the Nightingale.

Praise for The Book of Gothel:

‘Both gently and fiercely told, The Book of Gothel
is a sweeping, sharp story of how history twists into fairy tale and back again’ Hannah Whitten, author of For the Wolf

The Book of Gothel is wonderfully rich with historical detail, and sparkles with the intermingled magic of gods and goddesses, seers and wisewomen’ Louisa Morgan, author of The Secret History of Witches

‘A captivating vision of a medieval past steeped in women’s magic and bound by women’s love’ Jordanna Max Brodsky

‘Mary McMyne is a magician’ Gregory Maguire, author of Wicked

‘An inventive retelling of a classic tale. . . a spellbinding debut’ Signe Pike

‘Mary McMyne does more than retell a beloved fairy tale. She elevates the voice of the sacred Feminine hidden within’ Ronlyn Domingue, author of The Mercy of Thin Air

‘The Book of Gothel delivers an intelligent spin on a well-loved fairy tale, the rich historical detail deftly woven with folktale magic and thoughtful characterisation’ Rowenna Miller, author of Torn

Reviews

The Book of Gothel is wonderfully rich with historical detail, and sparkles with the intermingled magic of gods and goddesses, seers and wisewomen. Haelewise is a memorable heroine, worthy of legend. Readers will see the story of Rapunzel in a new and refreshing light.
Louisa Morgan
The Book of Gothel delivers an intelligent spin on a well-loved fairy tale, the rich historical detail deftly woven with folktale magic and thoughtful characterisation
Rowenna Miller, author of TORN
Fable and history rhyme in McMyne's captivating vision of a medieval past steeped in women's magic and bound by women's love
Jordanna Max Brodsky
An inventive retelling of a classic tale that pulls you deep into the wild woods of medieval Germany. The Book of Gothel is a spell-binding debut
Signe Pike, author of THE FORGOTTEN KINGDOM
Mary McMyne does more than retell a beloved fairy tale. She elevates the voice of the sacred Feminine hidden within. Certain stories endure because of their beauty, wonder, and wisdom. The Book of Gothel is such a novel-one that will hold readers in delighted thrall right to the startling end
Ronlyn Domingue, author of THE MERCY OF THIN AIR
Smart, swift, sure-footed and fleet-winged, The Book of Gothel launches its magic from a most reliable source: the troubled heart. Mary McMyne is a magician
Gregory Maguire, author of WICKED
Both gently and fiercely told, The Book of Gothel is a sweeping, sharp story of how history twists into fairytale and back again
Hannah Whitten