We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Echo of Worlds

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9780356518053

Price: £22

ON SALE: 27th June 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘A GENUINE TREAT FOR SF FANS: AN EPIC MULTIVERSE TALE THAT MOVES LIKE A THRILLER’ Kirkus on Infinity Gate

‘AN IMMENSE ACHIEVEMENT: AN IMPECCABLY CRAFTED BOOK’ New York Times

Following the critically acclaimed Infinity Gate comes the second and final novel in the Pandominion by international bestselling M. R. Carey. A thrilling adventure set in the multiverse, it tells of humanity’s expansion across millions of dimensions, and the AI technology that might see it all come to an end . . .

Two mighty empires are at war – and both will lose, with thousands of planets falling to the extinction event called the Scour. At least that’s what the artificial intelligence known as Rupshe believes.

But somewhere in the multiverse there exists a force – the Mother Mass – that could end the war in an instant, and Rupshe has assembled a team to find it. Essien Nkanika, a soldier trying desperately to atone for past sins; the cat-woman Moon, a conscienceless killer; the digitally recorded mind of physicist Hadiz Tambuwal; Paz, an idealistic child and the renegade robot spy Dulcimer Coronal.

Their mission will take them from the hellish prison world of Tsakom to the poisoned remains of a post-apocalyptic Earth, and finally bring them face to face with the Mother Mass itself. But can they persuade it to end eons of neutrality and help them? And is it too late to make a difference?

Because the Pandominion’s doomsday machines are about to be unleashed – and not even their builders know how to control them.

Discover the conclusion to the spectacular Pandominion duology – an exhilarating science fiction series from the author of the million-copy bestseller The Girl With All the Gifts. Perfect for fans of The Space Between Worlds, The Long Earth and Children of Time.

Praise for The Pandominion:

‘[A] brilliant dimension-hopping sci-fi thriller . . . readers will be wowed’ Publishers Weekly

‘A fascinating window onto a dangerous and multifaceted universe’ Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of Children of Time

‘Infinity Gate, with its in-depth science and rich characterization, is a must-read for SF fans’ Booklist

‘A powerful exploration of the near-future, skilfully and seamlessly weaving different realities and different iterations of AI . . . A compelling entry and a must-read!’ Tade Thompson, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of Rosewater

‘Humane, thoughtful and exciting, Mike Carey reaffirms his place in the ranks of SF with this startlingly good novel’ Paul Cornell, award-winning author and screenwriter

‘M.R. Carey is a master of imagination and suspense’ Gareth L. Powell, author of Embers of War

‘A dazzling speculation on the many ways our world could have evolved, layered inside a thriller that will make your eardrums vibrate. I was charmed, disturbed, and fascinated by turns – and I couldn’t put this book down‘ Annalee Newitz, author of Autonomous and The Terraformers

‘This is gripping, unrelenting, and absolutely unique. Carey is working at the absolute top of his game’ Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author

One of the most inventive voices in contemporary fictioni09.com

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

[A] brilliant dimension-hopping sci-fi thriller . . . readers will be wowed
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Humane, thoughtful and exciting, Mike Carey reaffirms his place in the ranks of SF with this startlingly good novel
Paul Cornell
This is gripping, unrelenting, and absolutely unique. Carey is working at the absolute top of his game, and I cannot wait to see where this story goes next! They say there's nothing new under the sun. Well, M. R. Carey heard this and invented a whole new sun to put new things under. Absolutely brilliant. Top-notch science fiction, thrilling and thoughtful at the same time.
Seanan McGuire, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author
A fascinating window onto a dangerous and multifaceted universe
Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of CHILDREN OF TIME
Infinity Gate is a powerful exploration of the near-future, skilfully and seamlessly weaving different realities and different iterations of AI . . . Carey has the experience, imagination and verve to pull it off. A compelling entry and a must-read!
Tade Thompson, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of ROSEWATER
A dazzling speculation on the many ways our world could have evolved, layered inside a thriller that will make your eardrums vibrate. M.R. Carey reveals the human (and non-human) cost extracted by the crumbling aspirations of a multiverse empire. I was charmed, disturbed, and fascinated by turns - and I couldn't put this book down
Annalee Newitz, author of AUTONOMOUS and THE TERRAFORMERS
M.R. Carey is a master of imagination and suspense
Gareth L. Powell, author of EMBERS OF WAR
A genuine treat for SF fans: an epic multiverse tale that moves like a thriller
Kirkus
Infinity Gate, with its in-depth science and rich characterization, is a must-read for SF fans, as Carey's story crosses the militarism of an anthropomorphic Starship Troopers with Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter's Long Earth series while waging a war against Stargate's replicators.
BOOKLIST