We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Tonight, I Burn

Digital (deliver electronic) / ISBN-13: 9780356521954

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 7th November 2023

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘A spell of a book, with romance, betrayal, and mystery smoldering on every page. Readers will burn with Penny every step of the way’ Heather Walter, author of the Malice duology

A thorn witch with the power to walk between the realms of Life and Death finds herself at the centre of a magical rebellion – and a dangerous romance – that could destroy her coven and her soul in this dark and decadent debut.

Thorns, Tides, Embers, Storms, and Ores. All five covens are bound in servitude to the tyrant High Warden of Halstett.

Penny Albright is a daughter of the thorn coven, forced to patrol the veil between the realms of Life and Death. Each night, one thorn witch – and only one – must cross the veil by burning at the stake. Each morning, that witch draws on their magic to return. Failure to follow the rules risks the veil and risks them all.

But one morning, Penny’s favourite sister Ella doesn’t return. And that night, determined to find her, Penny breaks the rules. She burns in secret. And she discovers that all isn’t as it seems in Life or Death.

Her journey leads her to Malin, a devastating lord with too many secrets; to Alice, a mysterious captive prophet; and to a rebellion brewing in the shadows beneath the city. And as Penny’s world splits, she’ll face a devastating choice. Because it’s not just her sister’s life that hangs in the balance. It’s the fate of all magic.

All it takes is one witch – and one spark – to set the world ablaze

Praise for Tonight, I Burn:

‘With polyamory and a strong, queer main character, this is a breathtaking must-read for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout’ Library Journal (Starred Review)

‘I absolutely loved the witchcraft of TONIGHT, I BURN. The magic, secrets, and sisterhood of the Thorn Witch Coven ensnared me immediately, and I was quickly drawn into the plot of deathscapes and spinners of fate. Highly recommended for all lovers of magical fantasies
‘ Kendare Blake, New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series

Tonight, I Burn kept me turning pages with fascinating magic, compelling dark fairytale vibes, and heart-wrenching plot twists. I can’t wait for the next one!’ Melissa Caruso, author of the Swords and Fire and Rooks and Ruin series

‘Readers will find themselves at the center of a magical rebellion and delight in the power of many kinds of love. A hard-fought ending sets the stage for a sequel that impatient readers will crave‘ Kirkus

‘[A] gripping debut….Penny’s wry voice brings some fun to Adams’s dark but impactful worldbuilding, while plenty of twists keep the pages turning. Fans of gothic fantasies will be hooked’
Publishers Weekly

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

[A] gripping debut....Penny's wry voice brings some fun to Adams's dark but impactful worldbuilding, while plenty of twists keep the pages turning. Fans of gothic fantasies will be hooked
Publishers Weekly
Readers will be captivated by the beautiful, evocative prose that draws you into Penny's chaotic world of burning witches, a Spinner weaving murky fates, nightly forays to the cool grey sands of Death and dangerous plots to oust a tyrant from power. With creative worldbuilding, tantalising mysteries and interesting, ever-shifting relationship dynamics, Tonight, I Burn is a delightful dark romantic fantasy that will enchant you from the first page
Nerd Daily
With polyamory and a strong, queer main character, this is a breathtaking must-read for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout
Library Journal (Starred Review)
Wickedly enchanting. Katharine J. Adams has crafted a spell of a book, with romance, betrayal, and mystery smoldering on every page. Readers will burn with Penny every step of the way
Heather Walter, author of the Malice duology
Tonight, I Burn kept me turning pages with fascinating magic, compelling dark fairytale vibes, and heart-wrenching plot twists. I can't wait for the next one!
Melissa Caruso, author of the Swords and Fire and Rooks and Ruin series
Dark and atmospheric . . . Tonight, I Burn reads like a gothic horror of old, chilling, tense, and full of shocking reveals, but with a reinvented burn-the-witch-at-the-stake trope and a strong, queer heroine readers can't help but root for
Booklist
I absolutely loved the witchcraft of TONIGHT, I BURN. The magic, secrets, and sisterhood of the Thorn Witch Coven ensnared me immediately, and I was quickly drawn into the plot of deathscapes and spinners of fate. Highly recommended for all lovers of magical fantasies
Kendare Blake, New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series
Readers will find themselves at the center of a magical rebellion and delight in the power of many kinds of love. A hard-fought ending sets the stage for a sequel that impatient readers will crave
Kirkus
Katharine J. Adams weaves a captivating debut out of life and death, darkness and light, and truth and lies. Romance, rebellion, and a twisting and turning plot will keep readers engaged to the last page of Tonight, I Burn!
Rowenna Miller, author of The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill

Thorn Witch Trilogy