We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Five Things Fans Can Learn From The World of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time

Five Things Fans Can Learn From The World of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time


Five Things Fans Can Learn From The World of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of TimeThe World of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time is an in-depth companion book to the bestselling Wheel of Time series (now also a major TV series on Prime Video), which brings this fascinating and much-loved universe to life. It was primarily written by Teresa Patterson based on detailed notes and maps provided by Robert Jordan – and the author also acted as editor on the project.

Originally published after the seventh book in the series, A Crown of Swords, it reads as if written by a historian and describes events from the world as if they were real. The resulting effect is a truly engaging reading experience that allows fans to fully immerse themselves in the world Jordan created.

But what elements of the world and its history does this book explore? Read on to find out . . .


Explaining The Wheel and the Power

‘In this world there in no one beginning or one end’

The first section of The World of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time goes into the founding principles of the world, such as the laws and magical concepts that govern it. It gives descriptions of the Wheel of Time, the True Source, the Pattern, One Power the circular nature of time and much more. It also explores angreal, sa’angreal, and ter’angreal, and the nature of the Dark One and the Creator.


Delving into The Age of Legends

‘The Dark One was bound outside of time by the Creator at the moment of creation’

The second part of the book describes the Age of Legends and how the world fell into Shadow. It goes into detail about how the Aes Sedai, Nym, Da’shain Aiel, Ogier, and other groups and races operated in that age. It also tells of the thirteen Forsaken and all the many types of Shadowspawn and Friends of the Dark, and gives an account of the Breaking of The World.


A history of The World Since the Breaking

‘The survivors found themselves in a vastly changed world . . .’

The third section explores the events since the Breaking of the World. It tells how the White Tower was formed, how the Ten Nations rose and fell, as well as giving details on the War of the Second Dragon, the War of the Hundred Years and the founding of Andor. It also includes a section of ‘modern history’, including the Aiel War, and the appearance of the false Dragon Logain Ablar.


Exploring The World of the Wheel

‘No surviving maps tell exactly what the world was like before its continents were torn apart by the one power, but there is no doubt it was very different from the world of today’

Here readers are given a geographic description of the entire world of the Wheel of Time. It includes information on Shara, Seanchan, the Aiel Waste, the Sea Folk Islands, the Ogier and the Ways – as well as Tel’aran’rhiod, the World of Dreams, and how wolfbrother abilities are linked to it.


A Journey Within the Land

‘Current unrest is causing rampant political changes throughout the land…’

The final part of The World of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time gives political information on Tar Valon, Mayene and all the current nations of the Westlands. We are told more about the armies of the various nations, as well as the Children of the Light. Here you can also find out more about the Westlands’ calendars and the Prophecies of the Dragon.


If you’d like to take an in-depth tour through the rich universe Robert Jordan created, a new paperback edition of The World of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time is available now: